Florida's Personal Injury Law Firm

ALPIZAR LAW BLOG

What You Need To Know About Auto Accidents in Brevard County FL

auto accident

From Cocoa Beach to Cape Canaveral, Florida’s Brevard County is home to some magnificent locations in the Sunshine State. But it is also the unfortunate host to significant as well as fatal road accidents.

In 2022, the Space Coast Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) outlined that Brevard County registered 102 deaths from deadly crashes in the past year alone.

Being a part of auto accidents in Brevard County FL can be a grueling experience. In addition to physical harm, you also run the risk of mental trauma. Besides fighting to cover your medical costs, you might also require assistance for your living expenses while you recover from your injuries.

If you or a loved one has recently been in an accident, the following information can help you learn essential details about road accidents in Brevard County.

All Florida Drivers Are Required to Carry Basic Personal Injury Insurance

A car accident lawyer or a personal injury lawyer will be instrumental in a more serious car accident situation. The right personal injury lawyers will guide you in the right way when it comes to car accidents.

At the same time, whether you get into a situation where you have a car accident lawsuit or have to negotiate a car accident settlement, it is necessary to have some preliminary information in mind.

 

Florida is a no-fault state, this means that you don’t have to prove fault to claim insurance coverage for your own medical expenses and lost wages. This coverage also extends to your family members and any vehicle passengers that don’t have their own insurance.

Due to this reason, Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) sets the requirement for every motorist to carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) for their vehicle. The PIP helps you cover your medical costs and lost wages up to the limit outlined by your insurance company – without requiring you to prove the other party at fault.

With that being said, if your injuries or lost wages go beyond the defined limit by your insurance policy, you will need to contact the third-party via their insurance or through an attorney. This helps you cover expenses that exhaust the coverage of your own insurance policy.

If you are looking for car accident lawyers that can help with your particular case, our car accident case lawyers are here to assist. Reach out to Alpizar Law for a free consultation today.

Florida Also Requires Third-Party Property Damage Liability For All Drivers

If your car or property has been damaged during auto accidents in Brevard County FL, you have to file the claim with the other party’s insurance company. According to state requirements, every driver needs to carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL). This takes care of your property damage compensation claims through the other driver’s insurance company.

But even though you should not hesitate from making an insurance claim for third-party damages in Florida, it is not an easy road to get your claims fulfilled by a third-party insurance provider. Due to this reason, all drivers are required to contact the authorities if an accident results in someone’s injury or causes an estimated property damage of at least $500.

This process helps you document the scene with the help of law enforcement agencies. In turn, it allows you to move forward with third-party claims with the support of pertinent evidence and proof of fault.

It Is Still Important to Determine Who is At Fault

Florida is a no-fault estate, which means that you generally don’t have to prove the other driver’s fault before you receive your PIP insurance compensation. With that being said, there are certain instances where this coverage may not apply or where your expenses go beyond the outlined limit of your insurance.

By proving the other party at fault in auto accidents in Brevard County FL, you can file the necessary claims for heightened personal injury costs. This also helps you obtain the compensation you are owed by using the at-fault driver’s property damage liability insurance.

The process is cumbersome and requires you to provide a slew of evidence such as the accident’s police report that proves the other party’s fault. In order to steer clear of the daunting steps of this procedure, many vehicle owners turn to an auto accident attorney in Brevard County FL.

How to Sue a Third-Party For Auto Accidents in Brevard County FL?

With mandatory PIP insurance, Florida law allows you to skip the process of suing the other driver for personal injury coverage. But in cases where it is necessary or where you need to claim third-party PDL, you have to follow a scrupulous process that starts from the time of the accident itself. By being vigilant right after experiencing a road accident, you can file your legal claims with relative ease.

This includes the following practices.

  • Unless you have serious injuries that need medical attention, follow the legal requirement of staying at the scene after the road accident.
  • Call emergency services and the police department to report the accident right away.
  • Gather evidence through photographs and witness accounts that you can use in the future.
  • Note down every detail that you can remember such as the type of collision as well as the inebriated state of the other driver.
  • Get the insurance details of the other driver if they are available at the scene.
  • Call an auto accident attorney and discuss your case with them for legal protection and procedures.
  • Get the required treatment, contact your insurance, and carry out next steps with the advice of your lawyer.

Contact Alpizar Law For Auto Accident Advice Today

We know that a car wreck can be a stress-inducing situation. A motor vehicle collision, whether it be a motorcycle accident or whether it is a car accident, it can certainly take a toll. In some car accidents, the damage can be quite significant, it may require a car

At Alpizar Law, our seasoned auto accident lawyers use their extensive knowledge of Florida’s traffic law and their hands-on experience with insurance claims to help our clients seek justice.

Contact us today to hold a detailed consultation and move forward with the required processes for your auto accident claims. From advising you on the best course of action to helping you secure the rightful compensation, our attorneys ensure to assist you every step of the way.

Get In Touch